Lemegeton – Solomon’s Grimoire

Share the love


Lemegeton - Solomon's Grimoire | Magic, Witchcraft, Paganism and Wicca
Leia em português!

We have already talked about summoning magic in general. This kind of magic allows the user to summon an energy, a demon, an angel and etc so they can do some work or fulfill desires. Among many known forms of summoning magic, are the ones written on King Solomon’s Grimoire, the Lemegeton – The Lesser Key of Solomon. This grimoire is formed by 5 books (or 4 accordingly to some researchers) which lists all the names, offices, orders, and seals from all the spirits who Solomon had made contact with.


Detailing the Ceremonial Art of Commanding Spirits Both Good and Evil (The Lesser Key of Solomon by Joseph H. Peterson) | Magic, Witchcraft, Paganism and Wicca
Detailing the Ceremonial Art of  Commanding Spirits Both Good and Evil (The Lesser Key of Solomon by Joseph H. Peterson)
Translated from many different manuscripts, the Lemegeton grimoire is basically a guide on how to summon spirits so they can work for you. It is said that Solomon became very famous and renewable through the demons listed in the first book, Goetia. A very important information to be noticed is that Solomon was the King of Israel in the 10th century BCE and in the 1st century BCE it is explained in “Solomon’s Testament” how he built his temple dedicated to God (YHWH) by wearing a ring, which was given to him by the Archangel Michael, to command demons and order them to work.


Lemegeton – The 5 Books

Book I – Goetia

The fist part of the grimoire is called Goetia. Goetia is a Greek word which means “sorcery”. In this section are listed the 72 demons whom Solomon had had contact with. Goetia contains the “evil” spirits and got popular in the beginning of the 20th century when the occultist magician Aleister Crowley publish the first English version, also illustrated.

Book II – Theurgia-Goetia

Link soon
The second part of the grimoire is called Theurgia-Goetia. In this section 31 spirits which are partly good and partly bad are listed. All of them are “Aerials” and possess other spirits under their control.

Book III – Ars Paulina

Link soon
The third part of the grimoire is called Ars Paulina and is focused on angels of the day and of the night, as well as angels associated with the zodiac signs. There are 24 angels in the first part, one for each hour, 12 more angels in the second part, one for each zodiac sign and many others for each ascendant.

Book IV – Ars Almadel Solomonis

Link soon
The fourth part of the grimoire, Ars Almadel Solomonis, shows how to summon the angels from the “Four Altitudes”. Each “Altitude” is a direction: East, West, North and South. Each one of these is split into 3 sections, becoming a total of 12 sections where an angel with different features governs.

Book V – Ars Notoria (or Ars Nova)

Link soon
The fifth and oldest part of the grimoire gathers prayers, notes and knowledge brought to Solomon by the archangel Michael. Accordingly to Mitch Henson, this section does not fit as a fifth book, once there is no manuscript with this name, but rather many different similar manuscripts which were used as talismans for skill augmentation, such as memory and communication. As Ars Notoria does not list spirits, it doesn’t fit properly with the other four books.

The Lesser Key of Solomon

Do you know this grimoire? Have you ever practiced any of the summonings listed in the book? Share your experience with us!

Share the love

Leave a Reply